Let’s Plan a Girlfriends’ Getaway

August 31, 2006 at 5:35 pm 16 comments

Welcome to Travels with Tish — Girlfriends’ Getaway Guide. I’ll be visiting cities acrosketch-woman-w-suitcase-1.jpgss the U.S. for a mini getaway, then sharing my experiences, great finds, unusual bargains and even the not-so-great aspects of the trip. I’ll also share links and tips to give you ideas for planning better getaways. And, above all, I’ll welcome your comments and recommendations for what you love about these cities.

I’m not a gourmet, fashionista or tour guide. But I like great clothes, shoes, purses, food and art. Most of all I like getting them at a bargain. I enjoy a well-made meal – restaurants that do their specialty really well. I hate paying for mediocre food. Maybe you’re like me – someone who likes to spend time visiting with girlfriends while shopping, sightseeing, trying new restaurants and finding bargains. In fact, my getaways are always focused on maximizing my time and money so that I have more of both to spend doing what I love.

Ideas + Planning = Great Getaways
I believe you have to do some real planning if you visit a city that’s new to you – how to get there, where to stay, how to get around town, what to see and do. The Internet makes that so easy. And now that I work for an airline – Midwest Airlines – I have the opportunity to travel more often and visit more great places. I’ll do the travel homework and share it with you in the hope that you, too, can have a fun getaway.

I plan to post 2 – 3 times a week. To quickly find out if I have a new posting, add my RSS feed to your desktop and you’ll be notified when I’ve posted a new entry. It’s easy. And I know it will be fun.

Let’s Hear From You: Tell me what cities you’d like to visit. Check the Midwest Airlines route map for cities that make for great girlfriend getaways. And be sure to add your recommendations for the thingts you like best about each city

Entry filed under: Where I've Been.

Why Visit the Lower East Side of New York?

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary Jo  |  August 31, 2006 at 11:27 pm

    Tish,

    Welcome to the blog world! I’m so happy to see your site off and running. I’ve got you on my RSS subscription list, and will look forward to following your adventures.

    Maybe one day some of us travel bloggers can have our own, personal, getaway!

    Best of luck to you,
    Mary Jo

    Reply
  • 2. tish  |  September 1, 2006 at 1:27 pm

    Thanks, Mary Jo. You’re the first to read it and respond, so the links must be working. Did a “soft” launch to check out the technical stuff. I also think we should plan a travel bloggers getaway. More thoughts on that later.

    tish

    Reply
  • 3. lola  |  September 12, 2006 at 4:56 pm

    I do not have a route map handy but do you provide
    service Milwaukee to San Antonio?

    Reply
  • 4. tish  |  September 12, 2006 at 4:59 pm

    Lola — We sure do provide service to San Antonio. In fact, I’ll be blogging about San Antonio later this week. You’ll find a route map in the right column under Links — Great Getaway Cities.
    tish

    Reply
  • 5. Cassandra  |  September 12, 2006 at 5:23 pm

    Hello Trish,
    I have been the planner for our Sister’s Weekend trip for the past 10 years.  We started off with just me and my immediate sisters and now the group has grown to 65 people traveling from all over to attend.  It takes a lot to get a group together of this size, but I have managed it in the past. …I would like to say that we are a group of professional women, that range from lawyers, teachers, doctors, elected officials.

    Reply
  • 6. terri  |  September 12, 2006 at 7:58 pm

    I am in the midst of planning a trip for February of 2007 with a group of 8 women. We are looking at San Antonio, Savannah, New Orleans and San Francisco. I am hoping some of these locations might be researched in the near future.

    Reply
  • 7. Tammy  |  September 12, 2006 at 8:37 pm

    How does a girl get a job (or an apprenticeship) as faboo as you?
    Who is luckier than you, tish?

    Reply
  • 8. Suzanne  |  September 13, 2006 at 3:12 am

    Tish,

    It was karma flowing my way when I stumbled onto this blog researching a “girlfriend trip” to San Diego. Any thougts on SAN? Any help from you or other bloggers would be greatly appriciated!
    Cheers!

    Reply
  • 9. Zakiya Courtney  |  September 13, 2006 at 1:17 pm

    This is great. I love to travel and especially on Midwest, if at all possible. I am always looking to go somewhere, always looking for bargins. Cruise prices are dropping fast. Are the airfares to the ports of departure droppijng too?

    Reply
  • 10. Joslin  |  September 13, 2006 at 2:06 pm

    Loved reading about your trip to NYC, and the cities you are considering have appeal to me as well.

    Reply
  • 11. Betty  |  September 13, 2006 at 5:01 pm

    I enjoyed your comments about Lower Manhattan, brings back memories when we used to frequent New York City. It has definitely sparked my interest in returning for a visit. Great work, keep it up.

    Reply
  • 12. tish  |  September 14, 2006 at 3:05 pm

    Zakiya — Some of the port cities Midwest flies to include Tampa, Orlando, Ft. Lauderdale, San Diego, Los Angeles, New York — all cruise ports. I don’t know if fares are generally falling to these cities — BUT, I do know Midwest has a fare sale on right now and these cities are included — for travel through mid-February. Follow the link under Fare Sale in the upper right column of this page. Check out the fares and see if you can coordinate a cruise during the fare sale travel period. Otherwise, visit midwestairlines.com, start an online account/profile and subscribe to the weekly fare special e-mails. Or, you can add an RSS feed to your home page from our Deals page. That way you’ll get instant notification of fare specials. 

    Reply
  • 13. tish  |  September 14, 2006 at 3:24 pm

    Suzanne — Will eventually be covering San Diego, but don’t exactly know when. Hopefully some readers familiar with San Diego can make some suggestions about what to do or not bother with in that area. I was there a few years ago, thought it was a gorgeous area. Did visit the Zoo to see the Pandas. Here are some Web sites to visit: sandiego.org, sandiego.about.com. I’ve done some writing about San Diego and these two sites were very good. And don’t forget, Midwest Airlines does fly to San Diego.

    Reply
  • 14. tish  |  September 15, 2006 at 9:10 pm

    Cassandra —
    I’ve e-mailed you a more complete reply to your comment about a girlfriends’ getaway group of 65. But here’s the basic discount info on groups of 8 or more from Midwest Airlines.
    1) Meetings Discount. This applies to people flying in from various cities to one destination. Up to a 10% discount.
    2)
    Groups Discount.
    This applies to groups of 8 or more.
    3) Midwest Airlines Vacations. A complete getaway package can be planned for you. It can include air, hotel, events, show tickets, ground transportation, etc. all on one reservation.

    Reply
  • 15. New York Hotel Deals  |  November 13, 2006 at 3:00 pm

    Dave

    Interesting topic… I’m working in this industry myself and I don’t agree about this in 100%, but I added your page to my bookmarks and hope to see more interesting articles in the future

    Reply
  • 16. soho shopping new york  |  March 2, 2010 at 5:51 am

    I really want you go more into the soho manhattan area … with your own spin of course 🙂 and provide a lot of your own pictures

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Travels With Tish is Moving!

New site. More travel stuff. Easier URL to remember. Travelswithtish.com

Travelswithtish.com

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

Blog Award Winner

City Guides & Maps

Save 20% on 2008 Thomas Guides from Rand McNally.

Quikbook for Hotel Choices

Quikbook. Choose the hotel and location you want at a competitive rate. Cancel or change a reservation if needed. No added fees.

Don’t Miss My Next Post!

Subscribe by E-mail or by RSS feed E-Mail Tish

e-mail-symbol.gifE-mail this post to a friend. Just copy the URL (address) & paste into your e-mail to send.

Digg!

Worried About Identity Theft?

The Latest

Getaway Totes and Tees

It’s Easy to Subscribe

Want to be notified when Tish adds a new post? Add this blog to your home page.

Subscribe to Travels with Tish Girlfriends' Getaway Guide

Add to Technorati Favorites


Blogarama - The Blog Directory

Add to netvibes

Travel Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Feed Shark Blog Flux Directory
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www."); document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E")); var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-1130701-1"); pageTracker._initData(); pageTracker._trackPageview();
View Tish Robinson's profile on LinkedIn

Concerned About Memory Loss in a Loved One?


