Pack Light for Canal Street Shopping in NYC.

October 1, 2007 at 2:11 pm Leave a comment

Going on a shopping getaway? Save yourself a lot of anxiety: pack lean and light – and save lots of room for those knock-off (replica) purse bargains!

I’m often torn: 1) Do I want to have a wide range of clothing to choose from on my trip; or 2) Can I make do with a few basics and leave room for new purchases? The more I travel, the more I’ve learned that packing lean and light makes good sense — even if I’m not on a shopping trip.

Independence Day Special – 20% Off at eBags.com from July 4th through July 6th

Let me use a 2-day New York trip in the fall as an example of what I take along.

  • 1 pair of black or neutral casual pants. Can be dressed up or down. Maybe even great looking jeans instead.
  • 1 substantial jacket (leather, corduroy, wool).
  • 3 shirts – long-sleeved, lightweight cotton knits. Maybe 1 turtleneck if the weather will be cold.
  • 1 sweater that will go with everything.
  • 1 lightweight outer jacket (preferably water resistant).
  • Underwear.
  • 2 pairs of comfortable shoes.
  • Makeup/hair care products. The smaller (and lighter) the containers the better. Don’t take everything, just what you’ll absolutely need. Most hotels have hair dryers, so don’t pack that.
  • Socks, hosiery.
  • Large canvas duffle bag (folded up in suitcase) with travel tag on it.

Wear the pants both days. Just press out if needed. Switch off shirts – maybe dress up with a bit of jewelry or a scarf. Layering clothes gives you flexibility for appearance and weather.

Suitcase Size. Choose a rather large suitcase if you plan to bring back purses, clothing and other bargain finds. Taking only a minimum of clothing lets you save lots of room for those treasures. I prefer packing all my clothes in plastic travel air-tight bags – the kind you zip seal, then roll up tight to push out excess air. Keeps my clothes clean and organized, plus I have no worry that a security agent might be touching all my things during a routine bag search. I also pack a canvasA table of high quality bedding was quickly set up on the SoHo sidewalk. All sheet sets $20. or nylon duffle bag, complete with travel tag, just in case my purchases require a second piece of checked luggage.

A Carry-On Bag. I prefer a light carry-on, probably the tote I’ll take with me shopping. I only carry on my map and itinerary info, jewelry and my small purse (that fits inside the tote). Makeup and all gets packed in checked luggage. Saves me time and trouble at Security.

TIPS:
1) Check out my NYC Recap post. Tips on hotels, transportation, shopping and more.

2) Travel in a Small Group — and SAVE! Consider inviting a few more friends to join you on your getaway and get a group airfare. Wondering how it would work with a larger group of gals, read my 3 posts about how easy and fun it can be.

3) Be Prepared for Unexpected Deals. Make sure you have enough extra luggage space for those unexpected deals A typical Canal Street vendor.that can pop up almost anywhere in New York. I found a table of high quality sheet sets along a Madison Avenue curb in midtown. $10 and $20. 400-thread count, packaged. Who can resist? Another table vendor we discovered in SoHo was offering expensive designer jeans for $75. I passed, but women were crowding the table to take a peek and grab a pair.

If you’d like to get fresh & fun travel ideas on a regular basis, Subscribe to my blog by E-mail or by RSS feed

 


Entry filed under: airlines, Bargains, Canal Street, New York, China Town, Girlfriend Getaways, Knock-off Purses, Midwest Airlines, New York City, New York City Bargains, Plan Your Getaway, Shopping. Tags: , , , , , .

BBQ at Jack Stack’s in Kansas City Best Burger in Midtown Manhattan

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Travels With Tish is Moving!

New site. More travel stuff. Easier URL to remember. Travelswithtish.com

Travelswithtish.com

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

Blog Award Winner

City Guides & Maps

Save 20% on 2008 Thomas Guides from Rand McNally.

Quikbook for Hotel Choices

Quikbook. Choose the hotel and location you want at a competitive rate. Cancel or change a reservation if needed. No added fees.

Don’t Miss My Next Post!

Subscribe by E-mail or by RSS feed E-Mail Tish

e-mail-symbol.gifE-mail this post to a friend. Just copy the URL (address) & paste into your e-mail to send.

Digg!

Worried About Identity Theft?

The Latest

Getaway Totes and Tees

It’s Easy to Subscribe

Want to be notified when Tish adds a new post? Add this blog to your home page.

Subscribe to Travels with Tish Girlfriends' Getaway Guide

Add to Technorati Favorites


Blogarama - The Blog Directory

Add to netvibes

Travel Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Feed Shark Blog Flux Directory
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www."); document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E")); var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("UA-1130701-1"); pageTracker._initData(); pageTracker._trackPageview();
View Tish Robinson's profile on LinkedIn

Concerned About Memory Loss in a Loved One?


